Transparency Log

Hey Everyone,

I am new to the moderation forum but am interested in the dream.

After reading through the forum and browsing on etherum.world, I wanted to understand the practical aspects moderation.

The first place I went to was the Transparency Log but i found it to be not helpful at all. The number of user reports associated with a post is helpful, but an explanation without context is not helpful.

Although I can see the content of posts that are kept I cannot see the content of delisted post. I understanding that showing delisted post has a host of complications in itself, but as a new moderator and in the general interest of transparency and accountability shouldn’t it be possible to see past decisions, if i really wanted to, without directly contacting the moderator?

Currently, Transparency Log only conveys that the platform is actively moderating, but does not seem to do anything beyond that.

How can we improve the Transparency Log?

2 Likes

Hi Barry,

María here, from AKASHA foundation. I’m a Ux Researcher & designer and I’ve been helping in the Moderating Open Design challenge.

It’s great you also noticed this issue. In your view, it will be important that as a new moderator you are able to review past delisted posts to understand past decisions without the need to contact another moderator.

The transparency log could allow to “watch again” delisted content to fully understand the context again.

I believe that this mechanism will have some technical implications, like having the list of content reported and delisted available at all times.

1 Like

Hello Barry,