AKASHA Conversations #7 - Weco: Regenerating The Social Fabric Through Play

MODERATION

GOVERNANCE

CONVERSATION

EVENTS

AKASHA Conversations #7 — Regenerating The Social Fabric Through Play

By Martin Etzrodt

June 21, 2022

We were pleased to be joined by James Weir and LCC from we{collective} (WeCo) for this month’s AKASHA Conversation. WeCo is building a platform that creates public places in holonic structures. WeCo defines itself as “a collective intelligence experiment working to manifest the world brain by 2030.” :earth_africa:

The WeCo initiative explores three important topics:

• Innovations in organizing information
  • Novel methods of creating together
  • Unique applications for being together

James shared his motivation for developing WeCo and his path of transitioning from an ideator to a self-taught developer. Both James and LCC share the conviction that we are on a trajectory towards a global civilization that needs new forms of governance. The current Web may be a manifestation of H.G. Well’s World Brain, but in its current form, it is not fit for what was envisioned.

We need various decision-making tools and methods to explore further and find a shared global understanding. James noted that the democracies of today are still operating in an archaic manner, as in the time before the internet, while online social media platforms remain privately owned. There is currently a misalignment between incentive designs, decision making, and the user base generating valuable content. The above reasoning resonates with the AKASHA Foundation and our mission to build an open framework to serve future online communities. :handshake: